Sea Girt 5K

3 Aug

Sunday, August 1, 2010 – Sea Girt 5k, 8:30 AM

My dad and I woke up around 6:30 to eat and get ready for our race! I had half of a whole wheat bagel with almond butter and a banana. I also had a cup of coffee, water, and then a sliver of zucchini bread before we left. I felt like the food was sitting like a rock in my stomach but I was pretty hungry when I woke up. We got to the race at about 7:45- a perfect amount of time! We picked up our shirts and numbers and then walked back to the car. We jogged for about 5 minutes to warm-up on shady side streets. Having run this race before, the pre-race logistics were pretty simple.

At the starting line, we lined up about 2/3 of the way from the back. I was nervous we would be too close but that was certainly not the case!  The gun went off, and we were over-run with TONS of little kids! It was very annoying.

The weather was mostly overcast, but a VERY HUMID 75 degrees.

I felt pretty good for most of the way, I was pushing hard and out of my comfort zone. Sometime around mile 2, I got the worst cramp in my left side. It felt like my food was sitting there in lump 😦 I tried to just breath through and it and tell myself that at WORST I had 10 minutes to go and I could make it 10 minutes.

Coming around the last turn I let loose and ended up passing a lot of people! My goal for the race was to break 27 minutes… and I DID!

I was so happy with my race. I ran hard and smart and it just made me more excited to race again!

My approximate mile splits (from memory):

Mile 1: 8:33

Mile 2: 8:36

Dad finished in 24:14 and was disappointed! That is, of course, until I told him that he came in 17th out of 72 in his age group! I came in 29th in the 20-29 age group!

All in all, it was yet another fun race! Can’t wait for the next one 🙂

-Jul

Leave a Reply

