It’s August?!

3 Aug

That was most definitely the FASTEST month of July I’ve ever experienced! I cannot believe it’s August already!

As you can see by the recipe posting, I did some wonderful cooking/baking this weekend ๐Ÿ™‚ That eggplant parm was so delicious! I cannot wait to make it again. We got the eggplant and zucchini from the Barber’s organic garden so I put them to good use. We also have about 20 (?) tomatoes which I’ve just started to love. They are so good on a sandwich or eaten on a plate with salt…yum.

Other than cook, I spent both Friday and Saturday morning at the beach (Sean and then Mom/Kiera/Bill) and then went to the Flaim’s for Mike’s birthday party. Sunday after the race was spent eating (I was starving all day) and then scrapbooking! I’m finally done with 2008 haha.

I’m back in Boston after another 3:00 AM driving adventure. This time we didn’t have to stop in the Bronx so it was a little less painful. It still took over 5 hours thanks to the fact that I missed a turn… I ended up on the Cross River Pkwy instead of the Cross County.. oops. Oh well. I ended up being less than 10 minutes late to class. We had a speaker who was done with her presentation by 8:20! After doing some group work, I was home and in bed by 10 ๐Ÿ™‚ I recovered much faster this time and didn’t feel overly tired or awful all day.

This morning (Tuesday) I woke up and did my first speed workout of half-marathon training! I was pretty excited to do it but my legs were obviously not- they felt like lead. After a quick snack (1/2 ww tortilla, ~1 tsp barney butter, and a few raisins) I was out the door. I ran 10 minutes to the Fens to warm-up. Once at the track, I ran 4×400 with 400 m recovery between each. My plan calls for 1:56 per lap.

My splits were:

2:00

2:03

2:02

1:56

It was annoying to not hit my pace until the last lap. It was clear that I had not done speed work in awhile and I just need to practice! After I finished my last 400, I jogged another cooldown lap and then jogged home for about 5 minutes.

Afterwards I felt tired but very accomplished! I love having a training program to check things off ๐Ÿ™‚

I was thinking about going to a power yoga class tonight but I think I’m going to pass. My quad is flaring up a tiny bit and I want to get some work done before my 7:00 group meeting tonight. Hopefully I can fit a class in tomorrow.

Well, that’s it!

-Jul

Leave a Reply

