Home, home-home-home

20 Aug

… to the tune of that one song…

Anyway! Seany and I had one of the best drives back from Boston yet! We made it from his apartment to Middletown in 5 hours flat! That includes a touch of traffic in Hartford, a mini-stop for gas because the station was closed (lame!), and a longer stop some where off the Saw Mill Parkway. We had very* little gas left and I knew if we didn’t get off to look, we’d soon be heading over the Tappen Zee Bridge and then it would be too late! Needless to say, we made it and I got a pack of Pretzel M&M’s that restored my energy 🙂

I spent my first real day of vacation (Thursday) running 5 miles, shopping, sunning, cooking, and baking… pretty much my ideal day! Starting from the top…

Running!

Distance: 5 mi

Time: 44:08

Pace: 8:50

Awesome tempo run, that felt hard but bearable!

[Insert delicious oatmeal! — 1/2 c oats, >1 cups water, 1 banana –> cook until starting to cream up, then add 1 tbsp chia seeds + cinnamon. Serve with 1 T mighty maple <3] It makes a HUGE volume!

Shopping! I attempted to exchange my new Banana Republic jeans for a larger size but apparently if you order it online, you can’t exchange it in the store :-/. Boo. Then Mom and I went into Victoria Secret to get my free pair of undies and try on the new Incredible bra. And it was, incredible. I got properly sized and bought a black one! I had $10 off and I WILL be going back to get the Nude color next time I get a coupon!

Cooking! My Mom made grilled chicken and asked me to make a side to go with it. We had some arborio rice in the pantry from Valentine’s day when I made this recipe. I decided on Risotto with Sun-Dried Tomatoes. I followed the recipe exactly (except I used dried basil instead of fresh and added some minced garlic to the onions) and it turned out great! I think everyone in the fam liked it 🙂 I really enjoy making risotto. I find it soothing to stand and stir…

Baking! Kiera begged me to make dessert so after a little searching, we decided on these Chewy, Chunky Blondies from Brown Eyed Baker. They were divine. I had to run to the store to get the butterscotch chips and brown sugar but of course I never checked on the flour… We ran out of white so I had to use half whole wheat. I don’t think it really changed the texture or taste at all though. We also only had salted butter but once again, not a big deal. I will definitely be making these again!! Kiera desperately wanted to make the Cookie Dough Cheesecake Bars, but we’ll have to save those for next time 😉

Chewy, Chunky Blondies

image from browneyedbaker.com

The night ended with a bar in bed with blogs… not too shabby for the first day of summer vacation* (Let’s not talk about how that was Aug. 19th… hehe)

-Jul

Leave a Reply

