Back to my roots

19 Jan

I haven’t discussed New Year’s Resolutions on here yet because I wanted to address them as they come up over the course of the coming months. Now is a good time to talk about my #1:

Grow stronger in my faith and closer to God

There have been times in my life when I’ve felt extremely close to God and extremely spiritual. Not coincidentally, the most memorable times were almost always those of great struggle. I can remember being very faithful around the time of my Confirmation, during both of my moves to and from Colorado, and after my sister’s accident. I prayed all day long and constantly talked to God. Despite the personal strife, it was really fulfilling to have someone to talk to and really brought me great comfort. Eventually, as things got easier I stopped being so diligent in my practice. When I went away to Northeastern I started going to church on my own and that was the time that I really understood the Mass and appreciated it not only for the chance to grow close to Jesus, but also to feel a part of a community. Although I wasn’t particularly constant in my prayer, I remember that time in my life for helping me love the Sunday ritual.

Over the course of the coming year many new changes and challenges will present themselves. I will graduate college, travel to Spain for 5-6 weeks, and then move to Dallas in August. I do NOT want to wait until I need God for me to rebuild our relationship. Since the beginning of Advent I’ve been going to church regularly. This week and last week are the first weeks that I can honestly say I’ve been thinking about my faith during the week.

On two occasions I felt myself rise above and call on my Christianity to be a bigger person. I will not discuss the incidents because that defeats my purpose, but I will say it has to do with the interactions and feelings I’ve felt toward two people I don’t particularly care for. Our university Priest said this week that we don’t have to like everyone, but we must love them. I do not love these two people in the common use of the word, but I feel compassion and acceptance. A big step for me.

I believe that I can continue to grow and become a better and more loving person everyday. It’s a simple quest, but one that I know will not end this year.

I’ll be back soon will an easy recipe and more!

-Jul

Leave a Reply

